Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Baptism

Not the best quality photo, I admit. But the original was taken 6o years ago today and my attempts at photographing that print didn't work out as I had hoped.

The important thing, though, is to record the image, and to do so today - the 60th anniversary of my baptism at Whitehill Parish Church, Stepps (now Stepps Parish Church). I was only seven weeks old, having been born during the Easter weekend. And I was baptised at Pentecost / Whitsun which, by the way the calendar has fallen, comes at the same weekend this year.

In the photograph (along with the baby in the shawl, i.e. me!) is my Aunt Esther (my mum's sister), my Gran, Mum, Dad and Aunt Barbara (my dad's sister). Taken outside our prefab in Mossview Road, Cardowan.

I don't remember much about the day, of course, but it's great to have the original photographs to look back upon. A wee emotional moment to treasure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.