Volucella bombylans

Grrrrrrr I had done a long and interesting write up for this picture, but instead of pushing save, I accidently pushed send and a fault occurred and the whole thing got lost, so I am having to type it up again!!
This morning I was shocked to see a vixen and her 3 cubs playing in the sunshine at the end of my garden...sadly I didn't get any decent shots, but hopefully she will come again, and I will be ready!
Today's blip is excellent bumblebee mimic Volucella bombylans. This is var plumata, and is a mimic of white tailed bumble bees, whereas var bombylans mimics the red tailed bumble bee.
I often have to tell people their photo of a bee is actually a fly, I don't think they believe me, but I guess that is one of the problems of being an entomological geek!
We are expecting thunderstorms overnight so who knows what tomorrow will bring.....could be interesting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.