Unexpectedly in the grass

It was raining when I woke up this morning, and then I had things I had to sort out with my Mum which took quite a while, so I didn't manage to go anywhere till late afternoon.
Walking in a meadow, enjoying the buttercups I came across this White-legged damselfly (platycnemis pennipes) sitting in the grass. I was surprised as this is a quite uncommon species, which I see a lot at the local country park, but I have never found it in another location!
this is a female, as the males have obvious expanded white legs which they use in a fluttering display in front of the females, and when mature they are pale blue, but both sexes are creamy white when immature.
They are like no other species of British damselfy, and one of my all time favourites

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.