Sipping nectar......

I didn't go far today, I have a nasty bite on my foot, which is really swollen and painful, so I have been feeling sorry for myself despite it being an occupational hazard!
I went for a quick trip to my favourite Southwater woods, but the darn vampire horse flies were about so I left fairly rapidly.....one bite to deal with at once is more than enough thank you!
On the way back along Two mile ash road, I stopped to look at the hemlock water dropwort flowers as they are a magnet to all sorts of wonderful bees and flies. As I was about to get back in my car, I noticed this Large skipper Ochlodes sylvanus nectaring on some red clover flowers.
I think these little skippers are adorable, and so full of character, I simply couldn't resist sharing this shot of his little face with you,
On another note I have been discussing tripods with another blipper, and I wondered how many of you macro photographers out there use one, and if you do, how on earth do you manage to chase insects around to get the shots?
only I find it near impossible......and I am wondering if I am odd?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.