For you, Sara Iman

By fazlinasser

The one with Snappy...

It's already the end of the first week in 2010 and I'm so proud that everything I wanted to do this week went as planned. I had tennis on Wednesday, celebrated Hamzah's birthday on Thursday, Treetop Walk on Saturday and today I had the highlight of week with kite-flying at Marina Barrage!!

The place was utterly crowded with people, but the fun part was watching the sky filled with kites of different colours and design. I flew my black shark, Sharky, up about 30 metres high for 10 minutes when suddenly it got entangled with another string. It then dropped directly into a fountain nearby. There was a boy who shouted, "Look, there's a shark in the water!". Felt like it was the end of my kite-flying experience for the day until I was told by my friend that there's a shop nearby selling kites.

I ran into the store and grab the cheapest kite which happens to be a blue shark but twice the size. Ran up to the roof again and with ease, my kite flew way up into the sky. It was about 50 metres high and it stayed there for a very long time. As the sky was getting dark, I started to retract it back, and then it snapped. I panicked, scared that it will fall into the fountain again, but Snappy, the name of my new kite, flew way passed it and landed on a field. It was really fun!! Now I should learn how to retract it or maybe get a better string.

After sunset, while me and my friends were still chilling, there were a few more kites flying up in the air, but to my astonishment, they were luminous and some even had lights on it. I sat down watching them in awe. It was just beautiful! It's official, my new hobby for the weekends, besides geocaching, is flying Snappy! And yes, it is satisfying watching your kite flying high. Next target, 100 metres! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.