The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Watching

I've been getting into lazy habits recently, leaving the camera in the bag as I walk up on to the top of the Knott. The result is that I haven't been ready for the unexpected. This female roe deer was obliging enough early this morning to wait while I found my camera and changed the lens. Shortly after this was taken, a tawny owl flew swiftly and silently across in front of me - nothing could have prepared me for that. The pearl bordered fritillaries are flying on the Knott in small numbers now, but they were too quick in the warmth of a sunny morning for me.

We spent a few lovely hours in Pam and Bern's garden later in the morning, there's always so much to talk about. Bern would have enjoyed seeing the roe deer.

Now Gus is getting restless for his evening walk. I shall be back later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.