Carnival Princess

It was the town's annual carnival today, with a procession of floats, walkers, dancers and bands through the town centre to the main site where there were the usual stalls and entertainments. We were blessed with hot, sunny weather, which brought out plenty of people (although I felt there were fewer along the procession route than in some years).

I wasn't sure which of my photographs to blip, but I felt that the Carnival Princess, with her Maids of Honour, made a suitable subject.

I would normally be very cautious about photographing children, never mind publishing the photographs. However, today everyone in the parade expected to be photographed, and the children performed for the camera, so I was not at all worried about pointing my camera at them. The three girls in this picture had their group photograph published, on line and in print, by the local newspaper, complete with their names and ages, so i don't think there is any problem with posting their picture here.

I hope the event was its usual success in raising money for local organisations annd charities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.