Spider

I'm still attempting to get some decent macro natural history shots.

I could perhaps have got in closer on this one, but I wanted to show the threads of the spider's web and the spider within it. The lighting was rather poor (under the shade of a bush) so I needed to raise the sensitivity of the camera. However, even the slightest air movement caused the web to move, which made it extremely difficult to keep in focus and to avoid motion blur, so I had to raise the sensitivity (ISO) even further to try and increase the shutter speed. The end result is a rather noisy image, which perhaps doesn't show too badly here on Blipfoto, but makes the image unsuitable for an exhibition print (even if I thought it was good enough for exhibition).

If you're not an arachnophobe, press L to view large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.