JuneFox

By JuneFox

Control Tower, Luton Airport

Today, I had to collect my mum from Luton Airport. She is returning from Switzerland having visited family and friends. My mother is Austrian and when she left school, she took a three year business course at the prestigious Marienberg School where she was a boarder. The first year she had to live out as the convent was still occupied by the French after the war. When she was 20 she came to England to work and improve her English - and met my dad who was English. She lost touch with her friends from boarding school after she left. However, six years ago one of them traced her and, every year since, mum has attended the school reunion.

Mum has sisters and brothers still in Austria and Switzerland and a few scattered about in other countries around the world. Sadly, the other reason for her visit was to attend the funeral of her sister's husband (my uncle).

On the way into arrivals to meet mum - I took this pic of the control tower at Luton Airport on my phone. Mum will be staying with me tonight before returning to her home in the Isle of Man tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.