Tyrant!

My Birds of Ohio book says that the genus and species names of this bird, tyrannus tyrannus, means tyrant, and these birds apparently are tyrants. To quote the book, ..."when on their nesting territories, both sexes will attack and drive off any perceived threat that invades their turf, regardless of size. Crows, hawks, squirrels and even Bald eagles will be relentlessly harassed, dive-bombed, and even pecked." Their common name is Eastern Kingbird, and I spotted this one perched on a tree branch overlooking the river this morning. I didn't have any idea of its species and had to call my daughter Becky who found it in her bird book. In my book, it is listed as one of the flycatchers. I was tempted to post another bluebird blip today just because they are so photogenic, and I really like this one; however, I've never posted a kingbird before so he gets the blip honors today. I hope you like him.

Go large to get a good look at the white on his throat and the tip of his tail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.