Monster Mods

Boring, I know. Not to me though.

The Ducati Monster has a really oversized number plate mudguard. It hangs down waaay too far. There are some aftermarket part that give the "chopped" look but none for the 1998 model. Plus for a sheet of laser cut and bent aluminium, they are really expensive.

Solution? I measured it all up myself using a picture of the newer part as a guideline. I then drew it up in Illustrator (hooray for Adobe products). Then I printed it out on paper and adhered it to a stiff board. Tonight I bolted the test board into place to check the fit. Yes, I need to do a few modifications but for the most part it is perfect.

Next I will send the file to a laser cutter I know along with a piece of 2mm aluminium. Then all I need to do is put it on my friend Ken's metal bender and presto, it just needs to be fitted to the bike. All for a fration of the cost of a bought one and a lot more fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.