The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Bowood 2014 #17

I was intrigued by the non-standard goose I had spotted at Bowood the previous day, and now had more information about it. My brother had suggested that as it was the size and shape of a Canada goose, but had the white face of the smaller barnacle goose it could be a hybrid between the two species. He had seen a few geese with these features with flocks of Canadas, so supposed either some barnacle genes had got into the system or it was some kind of abnormality.

I returned with the hope of getting a better picture with my long lens and also took my 35mm Macro lens. When I arrived I discovered it was raining with that kind of unobtrusive misty rain that leaves you totally soaked through in a few seconds and that makes everything green look tropically lush.

I inspected all the various groupings of Canada geese from the edge of the lake up to the boat house but none of them was the hybrid. I could see more geese in the distance beyond, but that part of the lake is fenced off. A heron took off from a landing stage behind the boat house and there were mallards and coots on the water. I made my way up to the house and back to the Temple Café to revive and get dry over coffee and cake.

In the evening I noticed that the metal felt-lined lens cap for my 35mm lens wasn't on the camera, and remembered pocketing it in the coat I was wearing, but on checking the pockets I found it was no longer there, so I resolved to retrace my steps the next day to find it.

L.
10.6.2014 (1710 hr)

Blip #1286
Consecutive Blip #148
Day #1525

Lens: Pentax 35 mm Macro

Bowood 2014 series
Bowood series
Bowood 2013-2014 (Flickr collection)(Work in progress)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Hollies - Long Cool Woman In A Black Dress (1970)
Long Cool Woman In A Black Dress was a pastiche of Creedence Clearwater Revival, writen by Allan Clarke with the Cook-Greenaway songwriter duo, and was quite atypical as it lacked all the Hollies' trademark three-part harmonies and featured Clarke on guitar, notably on the signature guitar rhythm that he had written at the start of the song. The record was also self-produced, unusually, as regular producer Ron Richards was ill on the day they recorded it.
Originally on their album Distant Light, it was released on a single in 1972 soon after Allan Clarke had left the group. The group had also just left Parlophone to sign with Polydor, so did not promote the song. However it reached No. 2 in the States, their biggest singles success there, and was instrumental in Clarke rejoining the group.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.