madwill's world

By madwill

Finlay's New Harness

One of the problems when walking Fin is that his head and neck keep bobbing up and down as he hops along on his good front paw. This means a normal lead and collar are constantly pulling on my arm and his neck.

I decided to try a harness and picked out this one as it doesn't rely on a piece between the front legs - which is obviously an issue for him!

It arrived today and when I first put it on he wasn't really sure about it and he wouldn't move. I did manage to coax him outside with some cheesy bite treats - but he was not really happy.

Anyway we tried it out on a proper walk this afternoon and it works really well. There is slightly less motion behind his front leg, which is where the lead attaches and so there is less strain on my arm and none on his neck.

It was put to a serious test at one point - a fox ran across the path about 30 metres ahead of us and he was off after it like a rocket - but instead of his neck taking the strain at the end of his lead it was his torso and my arm sharing the work!!

How do you explain to a dog that is against the law to chase foxes....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.