If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Shap Abbey.

Another day at a meeting down near Wigan at our regional Headquarters. This means little or no time for nice blips.

On my way home as it was so glorious I decided (as I did last time) to leave the M6 at Shap and make a detour. This time it was a slightly longer detour as I decided to visit Shap Abbey. The Abbey came as a shock because I thought I had visited it before but when I saw it I realised "no never seen that before".

The ruins are the result of Henry Viii and his dissolution of the monasteries, although why the tower was left intact I have no idea. There is a farm beside the Abbey which is probably there due to the Abbey buildings being used for farming after the dissolution in 1540. The Abbey was founded in 1200 by a local Baron Thomas son of Gospatrick and after the dissolution the land was granted to the Governor of Carlisle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.