If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Tebay "Gorge"!

I was down into Lancashire for another meeting today.  This didn't offer many chances for blipping so on the way back I detoured off the M6.

The gap between the Howgills and the Lake District Fells through which the M6 passes is known in our local area as the Tebay Gorge.  OK I know it is far from a gorge but it is an easy name and everybody knows where you mean.

In my little detour I was aiming for a road I don't think I have been on for about 35 years when a friend and I circumnavigated the Lake District (well most of it) on our bikes.  So this shot shows the "Gorge" looking to wards Tebay.  On the right is another interesting feature the little wood.  I have always known this as the Heart of England and it is basically heart shaped.  The name would be better if it was the Heart of Britain.  If you take a map of the UK and place a pair of compasses on the wood and draw a circle it is very close to being the centre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.