If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

A young petrol head.

An early start as we were off down to Sheffield to visit #1 daughter and the grandchildren.  We arrived in time for lunch so after lunch, as the weather was much better than the forecast for the rest of the weekend, we went to Graves Park.

The park is a favourite destination for the kids who are torn between the "petting farm" and the play area.  We started at the animals, they loved feeding them with food that was on sale.  I loved just being among animals again after I stopped working with them at the millennium.  There were many breeds of poultry,sheep, pigs, cows, donkeys,  mules and much more.

My favourite had to be the Gloucester Old Spot pig and her 9 piglets.  The pigs were always my favourite when I was teaching Rural Studies.  This is D on what was possibly his favourite a 1960s vintage International tractor which they have standing out for the kids to play on.  I think he is going to grow into a petrol head in one form or another.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.