If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Don.

I have known Don longer than I have known almost anyone other than my elder brother - 65 years!  We met on his first day in infant school when we were both four.  We grew up a few hundred yards from each other with Don and I being together as much (if not more) than my brother and I.  We did all sorts of things together Scouts, holidays, drinking as we got older until I went away to train and he finished his apprenticeship and moved for a job.

I started teaching and he joined the merchant navy but we still kept in contact when he was home on leave. I married and a month after I married Don emigrated to Canada to marry a girl he had met while "standing by" a ship being built in the Quebec ship yard.

We have been in touch over the years and every time he is over visiting his brothers he suddenly appears.  Generally without warning, but this has meant that over the years we have missed meeting up.  I am slowly getting him into the way of giving us some notice.  So yesterday we got a phone call to check we would be in.  The result a very enjoyable time catching up on changes in our lives and reliving past escapades.

Good to see you again Don!

Footnote:  Back blipped 5th June.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.