If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Honey Bee (Apis melifera)

Not the best of shots I know,but I was so pleased to have managed to get a shot that I am afraid it is what you are going to get.

I was walking down the garden path past the Thalictrum aquilegifolium (sorry don't know a common name for it) when I heard bees. Stopping to have a look there were a number busily working the flowers. I nipped back into the house for the camera and began the chase. The one I really wanted was carrying full pollen baskets on its legs but it soon left. I am useless at tracking moving targets so it was a bit of point and hope. My lack of ability coupled with the fact that using my camera you need to be quite close made the task even more difficult.

After a number of attempts I got this halfway decent one,which has really chuffed me. Of all the attempts I have made over time this is the only one I find even acceptable. Clickychick will claim the bee is one of ours but there is another bee keeper with bees nearer than ours so who knows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.