Journey Through Time

By Sue

Happy Birthday!!

Today is my aunt's birthday. She is 85, can you believe it? My friend Jackie (in the bright colored jacket), a friend since 1965-1966 when we were both at business school, went with us to lunch.

So this is how this went: My aunt Joan was trying to please me. Why I don't know. I told her to pick the place to eat. She suggested the Cuban restaurant, Pambiche, that I wanted to go back to. I said, well, if that's what you want. Well, turns out, it was what she wanted for me, more than her. ANYWAY, we drove over and I let off the gals and went to park the car. I returned and found that the inside of the place, which is quite small, was packed and the girls were parked down at the end of the outside sidewalk tables. I told them, Stick with me, kids, and I'll get you the best seat on the corner of 28th and Glisan, complete with passing buses, garbage trucks, cars, and motorcycles. Nothing but the best for my aunt, nosiree! It was a bit chilly, but they have overhead heaters, thankfully. I enjoyed my fish, but I'm not so sure my aunt was all that thrilled with what she chose. But we laughed and visited with my friend and I tried to hear everything despite the traffic noises. We persevered. Then back to the car, passing an interesting Urban Farm. An image of the side of Pambiche and their colorful mural and a bit of the "farm" can be seen here. Then out to Gresham where we did a few errands and stopped at a few stores and wandered around for awhile. Jackie went on her way, and Joan and I had to run to her store for Rx and milk. Then I was off to go home. I left and, not thinking, just got onto my usual route....BIG MISTAKE PEOPLE! It was too late, I was stuck. The after work traffic was thick and I was crawling along the road that leads to the freeway, where the construction is continuing. Hopefully that will improve things when it's done. AN HOUR LATER, I was on the freeway and 10 minutes later, I was home. Good Grief.

A bit of unsettled weather with thunder at the moment. It probably won't last long. Better go. Need to have a bit of food, I think.

See ya. Thanks for the wonderful comments on the hummer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.