f/Stop f/Start again

By annewokingham

Marsh Orchid -and Blipmeet News for 11th July

BLIP MEET Nr HENLEY - FRIDAY 11TH JULY
Forum thread

Dactylorhiza is quite a mouthful, so let's call it the Marsh Orchid. There are several varieties, and unfortunately I do not know exactly which one this is. Do you? The foliage is plain, not spotted.

I was given one of these plants from my late Mum's garden many years ago, and over the years have split it several times, so now have several groups around the garden. It is such an unusual colour and positively sings in the garden this time of year. In the background are the leaves of a golden sedge which it grows next to. It's name of course tells me that it likes damp conditions. We have heavy clay, which it seems to enjoy, although my mother had free draining stony soil on the Isle of Arran, where it also seemed to thrive. A rather special plant to me, which I will take with me if ever we move home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.