Full Throttle at Ruapuna

I've been doing my best motosport photog impression today, having gone to a BEARs (British, European, American Racing) Winter Series meet at Ruapuna Raceway on the outskirts of Christchurch with my mate Chris.

We had a good day, with some tight racing and,of course, some mightily impressive machinery on display. Whenever I watch bike racing (my favourite sport) I always feel a pang of yearning to be on two wheels again. I've done a track day at Ruapuna on my old 600cc Honda, and it was one of the most exhilarating days in my life (just about trumped by my Wedding Day, just).

Ruapuna is a nice wee track with a bit of everything; a couple of long straights to stretch the legs of the engine, a couple of hairpins to test the braking, and a series of esses to test the handling.

This shot shows one of the many KTM supermotos on display, leading the way.

Go large to see the look of intense concentration on the face of its rider...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.