The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Super-macro on Selsley common

I didn't go climbing this morning, which was a mistake because The Warehouse was where I really wanted to be! I stayed in waiting for my cousin and her daughter, but eventually realised that they were running late and probably thought my picnic was this week, not next ! So CleanSteve and I went shopping, and then up to Selsley common, to try out my new kite.

We had no success, as the wind was not co-operating, and it was hard to run backwards over tussocky grass liberally bespattered with cowpats! I got a bit cross, but eventually cheered up when I realised I could take macro shots of flowers with the Olympus in super macro. I found a beautiful orchid, which CleanSteve has also blipped with his fancy new macro lens. I did not ask him if I could use it on the 50D as it is still brand new!

Later, at home I made some peanut butter and oat biscuits, which for some reason have made me inflate like a helium balloon. Then CleanSteve and I began tidying up the garden, which could best be described as 'scrub clearance'. The garden will look much bigger once the rogue trees and eight-foot nettles have been burned on a bonfire, but right now it looks like a war zone after a nasty battle. Piles of foliage everywhere, an overturned wheelbarrow spilling soil, an overabundance of tarps and sacks that have become enmeshed with the soil, bags of stones.... it's not a finished look, but the overall height of the garden is greatly reduced, which can only be described as A Good Thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.