The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The end of the fair

Our school fete was held indoors because the weather was busy throwing everything at us at 1pm. I did not move from my post for about three hours because I was kept so busy with the 'hook a duck' stall. It raised £46.50, and I am sure it could have been £50 if I'd been there a bit earlier to blow up the paddling pool!

Every time I took out my camera I was swamped by another wave of parents and children, so the result was only five pictures, with the camera still set on pinhole, after last night's blip. This little girl, who has Hello Kitty painted on her face, and chocolate all over her mouth, was supposed to be posing for Grandma, but Grandma's camera wouldn't focus. I never got granny's email, so I can't send her this. In fact, I never asked her permission, but I think it'll be ok. The little girl just wanted to play with the ducks, and I was happy for her to do that. Some of the really young ones were very disappointed that they didn't get to keep the duck as a prize! Yet other children had been bought ice creams, but did not 'get it', kept trying to eat the cone first!

I thoroughly enjoyed the fete, even though I only managed to nip out at the end and buy some half price cakes and win a bottle of alcopop on the bottle stall. It was lovely to be able to meet some of the staff's children, and to see 'our' children with their parents. I'll tell you the total money raised, on Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.