The Chase and the Experiment

Skippers in love ;)

I put the macro lens away today and got out my 24-120mm lens. I have seen a few images lately that I liked that not only had the insect in focus, but the flower petals as well, then the leaves and ground nicely blurred... (When I shoot with the macro lens, only the insect -or part of the insect- will be in focus due to the very narrow DOF.) So I figured out what lens to use, and gave it a try. The winner of the experiment is above and the 5 that made the final cut start here.

I ended up with mixed feelings about the experiment. While I really liked the pretty bokeh achievable with the wide angle lens, I did miss the sharp results that the macro provides while shooting insects. And I do have to admit, that if I had been shooting with a macro lens when these two came along I'd have been out of luck to have both of them in focus. So... pros and cons for each, but I did miss my macro today. A comfort zone I suppose... But fun to try something new! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.