A little bit of bread and NO cheese

Emberiza citrinella

Another burning hot day (well, for Edinburgh!), one where you could feel a blast of heat when stepping out of the front door. As it was a starving day on the 5:2 diet regime, and as poor Meles was sitting at the table, cursing the computer and her colleagues, I decided that discretion was the better part of valour, and I headed for the hills.
Strangely, I seldom go to the Pentland Hills. I suppose because they're always there, looming to the south of the city, so it feels like they are too familiar.
A quick bus-journey to the terminus of the No.10 led to a couple of miles walk through buttercup meadows and past some resevoirs.
I was delighted to see this yellowhammer, a bird of my childhood now in dangerous decline, probably because of changed agricultural methods. Faither would always say the call was his dinner order...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.