NOT ONLY RHUBARB......

….. but also strawberries! Sometimes we don't have quite enough rhubarb to make anything much, so if I also have some strawberries that are past their best, I often put them in together and that's what I did this morning.

As you know, rhubarb can be rather tart and sour and the sweetness of the strawberries takes that tartness away and then the bonus is it doesn't need as much sugar, although it may need just a little.

Guess we are a bit like that sometimes - we need the "sweetness" of a friend to stop us becoming tart or sour. I have such a friend, Linda, and I called in to see her the other evening to take her some of Mr. HCB's salad leaves. She was telling me how much she enjoyed seeing me, so I told her that sometimes when I get cross about something, being the lovely, gentle soul that she is, she often sees things from a different perspective, and has made me think of things differently on more than one occasion.

She is much younger than I am, but is more like a daughter to me and I guess as all her family is in Bulgaria, it is good for both of us, especially as I have two sons. We always enjoy each other's company, and as her daughter doesn't have Grandma near, it feels like I have another granddaughter too.

Must dash, the rhubarb and strawberries are smelling good - just wish we could capture smells on blip! I think a large dollop of Greek yoghourt with it will be just right and maybe then I can eat it without sugar!

The greatest challenge in life
is to find someone
who knows all your flaws,
differences and mistakes
and yet
still sees the best
in you.


Thank you to everyone who helped put my rose in memory of David into the Spotlight - I didn't mention that David was an actor (and a very good one), so he would have felt very comfortable being there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.