Fields of Blue

I've been driving past this field full of beautiful blue flowers for days now and tonight I finally had a chance to stop. Gorgeous!
I'm sleepy! It's been a busy day.
After dropping Miss E off at school late this morning Miss L and I headed down to St Albans to see Mrs S and Mr M. There was an accident on the M1 so traffic was horrendous on the A5. The Sat Nav thought it would be a good idea to get off the A5 at Dunstable and head off for a scenic tour of Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire. At one point I headed down a road that said vehicles were prohibited except for access. It was about six foot wide with twenty foot hedges. Eek!
Very pretty though and we got there eventually!
We had a lovely lazy few hours chatting, drinking tea and eating lunch. Miss L and Mr M got up to all kinds of mischief including completely soaking the bathroom and generally making nuisances of themselves!
I left at 3pm thinking that would give me plenty of time to get back for swimming. It should take less than an hour. Traffic was awful again so I had a horrible stop-start journey, ended up driving far too fast on the dual carriageway and arrived at swimming with only a minute or so to get in and get Miss L changed.
I hate journeys like that - so stressful!
After swimming I dashed home, put some sausages and mash on for the Little Misses, said hello to my mum and dad who had collected Miss E for me, and then headed back to school for Miss L's Welcome to Reception evening.
The meeting left me with mixed feelings. I'm pleased she's got the same fabulous teacher Miss E had in Reception and she's with most of the children I wanted her to be with.
But I worry that she's not showing any inclination to learn to read or write! I know she's only four and there's all the time in the world but the contrast to Miss E at that age - mad to learn to read and write, unstoppable and basically teaching herself!! - is so marked.
I'm not comparing them! I think Miss L is pretty bright but I worry that school work - and getting her to do it - may be a bit of uphill struggle. For all of us!
We'll see.
I'm watching the England game now. We're currently 2-1 down with four minutes to play.
Come on England!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.