Moments

By togrrrl

The Squirrel Whistler

I call this man the Squirrel Whistler. He goes past my office on his way to work, his pockets stuffed with walnuts. He stops every few feet and whistles for the squirrels. A low slow whistle that goes up at the end. They come running! He tosses them nuts then moves on.

He just looks so happy and I guess the squirrels are too. I talked to him for the first time today and he was eager to tell me about his squirrels and show me how he fed them. We compared notes on the squirrels in the area - there's one russet coloured one that's just gorgeous.

Other people leave popcorn and bread for the pigeons every day. I just love that there's an underground community of bird and squirrel feeders doing their thing.

Nature Notes
- It was a great morning. I saw a Cooper's Hawk hunting near where I live. These birds were decimated by DDT but they are making a comeback and are living in the city now.

- Birds are starting to get frisky because the days are getting longer. I saw a couple of pigeons doing a courtship flight - flying close together in a big circle and the house finches are beginning to sing their lovely song

- The White-throated Sparrows are still hanging out in the bushes by my office. I hear them calling out "lisssssp" to each other as I walk past

All in all a lovely day: warmer, sunnier, springier....

PS I made this photo an antique colour because I think there is something so quaint and old fashioned about this gentle man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.