Mudflats

Jassy got her first taste of the Lota mudflats today. The flats are exposed at low tide and I quite often head down there to gather yabbies (small crayfish) with my yabbie pump.

This afternoon Jo suggested that we take Jassy. Firstly I was surprised that Jo wanted to come along and secondly, to take Jassy somewhere new can be difficult.

Both Jassy and Jo handled things well. I got some yabbies and we all got a little muddy. Afterwards I drove is to the boat ramp at Manly harbour to wash olff the mud. Jassy and I opted for full immersion. Lucky we brought towels.

It is after 9pm now and I am picking my friend Tony up at 1am to do some serious fishing before sunup. It is always a chore getting up at that time of the morning but when the boat is on the water, it is all worthwhile.

Night time boating takes a little bit more preparation. I think I am done. All I need to do now is boil the kettle when I get up and fill the flask with sweet coffee.

Note: I look like I am an old and hunched over in this photo. Not so. I jusat didn't think I would be in shot. Also, you might notice how the mud is pitted around us. Those are all Yabbie holes. There are thousands out there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.