Squid

This is what you get for a 12.30am start.

Yes, I picked my mate Tony up at 1am and we were on the water before 1.30. Unfortunately the wind was just a bit too strong to safely cross the bay so we settled for my secret fishing spot behind Green Island. It is far enough offshore to not be overfished but close enough to Green Island to run for cover if a squall blows in.

The fishing wasn't too bad for Tony. I wasn't so lucky. The gear I had with me was more for deep water rather than fishing over a reef. Consequentl;y my catch rate wasn't good. Some things never change.

Shortly before sunrise I noticed something following my bait as I reeled in. Squid. In fact the water around the boat was teeming with them. They are a little tricky to catch though. I had to coax them near the boat with the bait and them swoop in with the landing net. I got four which is going to make a nice starter for Jo and I.

I was home before 6.30am.

The wind promptly died to nothing. I should have stayed out.

That brings me to the cookbook. My sister gave me this very nice Asian cookbook for Xmas. I looked up Salt and Pepper Squid. It look simple to make.

For mains I am having eye fillet steak (blue) on the BBQ with salad and Jo is having Whiting fishcakes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.