Hey, those are my pyjamas!

This photo was the calm before the storm.

Tonight we went to visit Dad at the hospital. When we got there he was really pleased to see us which made us instantly alert. Straight away I noticed that Dad had made an attempt to pack his clothes, ready to go. His shoes were packed tight with underpants and socks and most of his other belongings were set out on the bed.

So when we turned up he expected to go home. Poor fellow. We played along without leading him on. I even told him a few times that he wasn't well enough to go home yet.

As luck would have it Dad's geriatrician was doing the rounds at the hospital. She took Jo aside for a chat. In her opinion, Dad is in what they call end phase dementia. I think the speaks for itself. So it is a case of wait and see and sooner or later, one of his vital functions will stop. Mind you, he is a tough old fellow.

So we are in the process of organising him the best care available when he gets out of hospital.

The storm came tonight when we went to leave.

A Dad storm.

We knew it was coming.

Of course he thought our visit was to take him home and as we left he made a bolt for freedom. So Jo exited the secure facility while I restrained Dad, gently. It broke my heart because he was quite upset and emotional.

The nurse had to assist while I left. I had a mixture of emotions. Guilt for leaving him behind and guilt for leaving an angry and upset dementia patient with the nurse to deal with. Our visit probably made the job of the nursing staff more difficult.

So Jo and I got home, poured a glass of of wine each and got on the phone to a friend for a chat. We let off some steam. While Jo was chatting I also gave my nephew a ring and gently chastised him for not visiting his Grandfather. He is a good kid and got the point.

Tomorrow morning I am setting aside for fishing. Yup, metime again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.