Mangrove Mud

This is what happens when you go kayaking at low tide in the mangroves of Lota Creek.

Lets backtrack.

I went to work this morning. I really should have stayed at home and done the family thing. Jo's Dad is still in hospital and I should have gone to visit, advise and listen on issues where he is concerned. Instead I arrived at work in a foul mood, very distracted. I was rude to the admin lady (she has had it coming for years), and my boss as well.

No regrets so far.

Jo meanwhile spent time on the phone to the hospital. Unsurprisingly, it turns out that Dad won't be going home but instead will be transferred to a full time care facility. Jo was at maximum stress. Secure care places are few and far between. Normally you take what you can get and go on a long wait list for the preferred option. It wasn't looking good but Jo phoned our preferred option anyway. Well, the aged care Gods must have been looking down on us big time because they have a place for him. In an era where good aged care places are few and far between, we have somehow found Dad a place in the nicest facility in town.

So far so good.

Jo phones me, tells me the news and then goes off to visit her Dad at the hospital. He was quite settled there, or as settled as can be.

I finish work.

My early plan was to come home, shower, change and visit Dad. Instead, as the working day went on I decided to go fishing on my kayak for a few hours before going up to the hospital. The fishing was good, the kayaking was relaxing and fish dinner went back in the drink for another day. At least I caught something.

Now I was pushing for time.

By the time I got home and cleaned the mud (see photo) from myself, my kayak and my fishing gear it was getting a bit late to go to the hospital. Jo's car has been sitting at work all week with a flat battery so I took the charger down there to juice it up.

Guilt sneaking in.

So I didn't end up going to the hospital to see Dad. I am telling myself that he is getting the best care anyway and my visit would probably have been disruptive. We are going to have a busy weekend with him as well.

No regrets. I took a bit of metime, enjoyed it, caught a lovely fish... and got muddy feet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.