Ant's thought of the day.

By SaintAnt76

Hills are there to climb...

So it's been a long time since my last Blipfoto and it is well past time that I got back to my thought of the day. So why the absence, why the silence... Well it's a long story or more precise stories that have taken me from the highs of life to the depths of dispare, so bear with me just this once and read to the end, hey you never know, you just might learn something.

So where do I begin... Well life sometimes throws you curve balls that you just don't expect and after a long run of balance and equilibrium the karma can sometime be upset. This has happened to me and I just didn't see it coming.

The image I have taken to reintroduce my thought of the day is of a famous racing circuit corner at Spa in Belgium, anyone who follows motoracing will know it as 'Eau Rouge' or in English red water because of a small river with a red coloured water that runs under the racing circuit.

Anyway, it is one of the hardest corners in the world as it is an uphill twist that throws your eqlibrium out as you plunge into a deep drop and sharp assent over a hill where the downforces throw your body and car all over the place. At the apex of the hill you lose sight of the track and have to rely on your instincts to get you through the bend back to a clear sight of the circuit ahead.

Like my life over the last eight months, or even perhaps longer, I lost sight of the road ahead, the things that mattered the most and my life has been thrown into turmoil that has taken my whole sence of being away. I lost my direction and just let things ebb away without noticing they were disapering right there in front of me.

I changed job and moved to a company full of promises that I soon realised would never be delivered. I lost my mum, my rock, confident and guiding star and was devastated by how alone I felt, when I should have been supported by the person closest to me. I realised my long running legal battle with my ex had gone on far too long and although it was finally over, it had taken too big a toll on mine and my loved ones lives. And lastly, I let the one thing I lived for, my whole sence of being down and lost sight of my promises.

So like the apex of Eua Rouge, the famous hillclimb in Spa, my life had been thrown into turmoil like a speeding racing car and driver, I had no sight, no realisation of it happening right in front of me.

But like Eue Rouge, it has presented one of the biggest challenges of my life and a fight I will battle until I win. I will bring that sence of balance back into the lives of the people I hold so dearly to me, my children Fleur and Luca and most importantly the one true love of my life, Peggy. I am a wiser and much more thoughtful man and have learned a lesson I will never forget.

So finally what is my thought for today...

Sometimes, just sometimes you have to stop and think about how the road ahead may not be as straight forward as you had imagined, don't let the twist and turns creep up upon you and lose sight of what is important to the ones you love. Like Eau Rouge, if you hit that apex of the hill you might be in for a nasty surprise the other side if you don't take into consideration what could happen if you take things for granted. You may end up fighting with all your might to avoid something that could have so easily been avoided in the first place.

This blipfoto is dedicated to my Mum for being my rock for so many years and two very special friends Zoe and Simon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.