sp33dway

By sp33dway

inspector hoverfly

Today I experienced one of those rare afternoons where my memory card (this time actually IN the friggin' camera) chocca'd full in next-to-no-time with shot after shot of blipworthy pics, so much so I had around 60 on my laptop that had made it to round 2. A few knockout stages later and I'd whittled it down to about 6, including this one of a hoverfly frozen in mid hoverflight, taking a break from pollination duty inspecting me and my Nikon and the other gianthumanbeans in the garden (my mum and lady sp33d, who were sitting eating choc ices underneath the now-dry patio brolly).

It's not the best of the bunch by far but it's the first flying insect photo I've managed to nail with some degree of success (save for the odd cabbage white or two which don't really count seeing as they're so flappity slow). Given the fact that these little fellows are very fast ANTI-BLIP darty blighters I'm incredibly chuffed I managed to get the thing in frame let alone slightly in focus and with the wings showing a little, albeit with a hefty crop.

Back in work tomorrow after our week-and-a-bit off. I wish I could say I feel recharged and enjoyed my time off but I think it's fair to say this week has mainly been a bit poo (even if I did pleasantly get a mention in the 'collections' bliproundup). Still, on the positive side at least there's a wedding partay to look forward to at the weekend and at least I'm getting my bike fixed soon, new suspension forks and all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.