Winter solstice sunrise

The winter solstice was at 2251 yesterday. Today was the first sunrise after, and also the closest to, the solstice. Therefore I wanted to record it in a photo.

I also wanted to take the photo from somewhere other than my usual spots. I decided to drive to Tamaki Drive, which runs from the central city out to St Heliers Bay, on the edge of the land. I was barely onto Tamaki Drive when I was taken by the sky behind the masts of the yachts moored off Pokanoa Point.

As I continued on to be nearer to Mission Bay, which is where I wanted to be, the rain started. The eastern sky still looked promising. I stopped just past the Orakei Jetty at Takaparawhau Point, to ensure that I had some photos of the colours in the sky. That's when the rain really started, and I did get wet.

Nevertheless, I continued to Mission Bay, where (almost miraculously) the rising sun shone through the low clouds. When it was well risen I got this photo, almost as an afterthought. On looking at it later, I thought that the best thing to do, was to get rid of the foreground, and the mass of dark clouds above. Turned it into a panorama.

This is my record of the first sunrise of the lengthening days. Another Sunday Sunrise for the year. Try the large version.

I have been quite remiss in my commenting in recent weeks. I've been looking at too many computer screens at work (the hospital uses electronic records), and with Council agenda. I've become a bit of a post and ghost, I'm sorry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.