lemonzest

By lemonzest

Bees

It's a few years now since I had bees. Somebody called round and asked if they could place a few hives here since he had noticed a lot of flowers. A few hours later three hives appeared in the spot I suggested. Not much of a photo, but the bees are already busy foraging. Here they are returning to their doorstep and queueing to enter the hive. I was hoping to capture them flying in but it didn't work.

Moving beehives is a delicate operation but they seemed calm. It is important to move beehives to a place quite a distance from their original place since there is the danger that they will return to the old place if they find their old bee lanes. Then, unfortunately they would simply form into a ball to try to keep warm and probably die of the cold. Bees have to be kept well away from horses that they can have an instinctive urge to sting. The pheromone they release with the sting (amyl alcohol I think) provokes other bees to sting and the result can be most unfortunate. I hope the bees have a productive and happy holiday here.

R,O,R,M and B came for curry which was fun. The curry wasn't too bad even if I say so myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.