Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Yummo!!

I know I've been waxing lyrical about the fact that Bundaberg considers itself the "Food Bowl" of Australia but honestly, there's just such an abundance of fresh fruit and vegetables growing right under your nose around these parts.

Today we visited the "Tinaberry" strawberry farm on our way back from Elliott Heads. The four of us had just indulged in a scrumptious feed of fish and chips.

Earlier today I had taken a photo of the strawberry pickers working along the rows of luscious strawberries. It's quite a sight to see and I've added the image along with a couple of others to my Blip Folio. They give an insight into the picking and the packing shed!! It is as you can see quite a labour intensive fruit to pick and they are all hand sorted and packed.

I hope you can almost taste the ones I've added to my journal today. Believe me they are absolutely mouth waveringly wonderful to eat. We had a big bowl full last night and I was determined to track down the farm and take some images today. They're so good I think I might just dive in to a few right now.

By the way - I did feel a bit silly when I introduced myself to the owner. Hi I'm Barb from the Blue Mountains, - "Hi Barb, nice to meet you, I'm Tina"..........Tinaberries (get it!!!!!) I could have hidden under the nearest strawberry plant, well almost!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.