From the Wilds of Eastern Russia to a Big City!

I arrived in Tokyo from Khabarovsk today. Quite a culture change too and a vast difference in standards that I've seen so far. Eastern Russia obviously struggles by comparison.

It was quite a performance leaving Russia but all my papers were in order and I didn't have any real problems. Changing roubles into yen, US$ into yen, getting my Rail Pass set up and then getting myself from Narita Airport to this eastern part of Tokyo, Shingawa, was a mission; all new for me. It was a relief to get through it all.

I was shown up to this delightful room in a Ryokan, a Japanese style Inn. It's very comfortable and I'm sure I'll sleep well! Tomorrow is going to be a day of culture, which I'm looking forward to very much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.