Mikey88

By Mikey88

Hovering

After dropping my son off at the station (results came through today - he got a 2.1, so we're very proud of him) I stopped off by the river to see if there were any insects around. There weren't the variety to be found at the nature reserve, but still quite a range.

The hoverfly in my blip was very obliging - it kept coming back and hovering at eye level just in front of my macro lens. As long as I didn't move too quickly to bring the camera into line, it stayed for about half a minute at a time, giving me the opportunity for lots of shots. I liked this one because you can see the wings, and its legs are dangling.

There was also a beautiful, iridescent green beetle and an some nice shots of an ant foraging in a bramble flower. There was a dragon fly hunting, but I had no chance of catching that in flight and it didn't stay too long.

I gave it about an hour, but the sun was just beating down, so I headed off home for some shade and a cup of tea (and work on the wall).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.