I should have turned back...

Firstly, thanks to everyone for all the stars and hearts given to yesterday's deer-fly - it made the spotlight and sat there most of the day :)

The weather deteriorated drastically overnight, but after a very wet start, the rain stopped for a while and it became quite mild. I decided to try and fit in a walk with Rosie before the next band of showers arrived, but seriously misjudged the timing. I probably should have realised that the rather attractive misty effect in the distance was heavy rain...

Rosie and I spent some time sheltering under a railway bridge, but the rain was so heavy that water started to flow into our refuge. When there seemed no sign of any obvious improvement I decided it might be best to try to get back to the car as quickly as possible (which is not that fast!). I was soaked through to the skin by the time we arrived, and for the last hundred metres or so the heavens opened, and the torrential rain was accompanied by thunder and lightning.A complete change of clothes was required!!

This evening Chris and Lizzy are cooking the evning meal, as a thank you for last weekend's party. It's smelling quite delicious and my mouth's watering already. Feeling very lucky :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.