Golden Pavilion - 金閣寺

Kinkakuji (金閣寺, Golden Pavilion) is a Zen temple in northern Kyoto whose top two floors are completely covered in gold leaf. Formally known as Rokuonji, the temple was the retirement villa of the shogun Ashikaga Yoshimitsu, and according to his will it became a Zen temple of the Rinzai sect after his death in 1408.

What a beautiful sight this was today. I joined in on another tour, this time to a total of six shrines and temples and am now feeling thoroughly templed out! Lucky though. What a privilege to be able to see wonderful architecture like this and so beautifully preserved too.

And a privilege to be part of this Blip community too. Many many thanks to all my Blip friends, old and new, who have become such a significant part of my daily life; some friends I've made that I may never have met in person otherwise. I would never have thought I could get to 500 - if I'm not mistaken, it's 500 today! Woohoo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.