Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Not A Giraffe In Sight!

Today I flew out yet again, this time to Houston. And I continued my survey of the new Terminal 2 eateries.

Wondertree is a new restaurant in collaboration with the popular Giraffe chain. I saw some similarities in the menu, but the restaurant combines 2 different 'zones'. You can either sit in the full service zone and order from the menu, or order at the coffee-shop type bar and sit in the coffee zone. The latter still has a wide range of delicious cakes, pastries, breakfast food and sandwiches available, but is more appropriate for those in a hurry or want to order food to go.

I had my usual Flat White and a Pain aux Raisins. Both delicious! The Service was friendly and efficient. I wish I could include more photos showing what both the food and the interior looked like. I loved the slightly ethnic decor and as I'm finding with all the places I've visited, there are numerous charging stations for the travellers electronic devices.

The Wondertree will likely be near the top of my list for places to eat at T2!

Interestingly, last week I visited Gordon Blumenthal's Perfectionists' Cafe. While visually beautiful and providing good service, the quality and taste of the coffee and pastry far from matched the name of the restaurant. Gordon must have been distracted, as the Queen was arriving in a few hours to officially open the new terminal and he was one of the few proprietors to actually meet her during the visit. I've heard that Prince Philip is a big fan of his. I will let him off this time, and try the Perfectionists' Cafe again another day. A coffee and a pastry, while 2 of my favourites, probably don't do his restaurant justice!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.