middaypyjamas

By middaypyjamas

Flinders Street Clock Tower

What I thought was going to be a fairly relaxed day for the most part turned out to be a busy one. In a good, quite social, way. I left home early to do my normal stint at work, which was actually tougher than usual due to it be busier at work than I've ever seen it. I finished and returned home for a quick lunch before heading into the CBD to catch up with my uni mates from my masters course, as we hadn't seen each other for a few weeks.

It was a nice catchup that started around two and bleed into a dinner in china town. It featured drinks, talk, and the usual. Luckily we started early because everyone then had other places to be, other drinks to drinks to drink, and other people to see, myself included. While at work that morning I got a text from Dad telling me that there was a minor celebration for my Uncle Burn who was turning fifty over at The Victoria Hotel.

The timing turned out almost perfect, as I got back to Moreland station from the city at around eight thirty, with the vic literally being on my way home. What was a minor celebration turned out to be quite a good turnout, with a lot of Burn's brothers and sisters coming to see him throughout the day. They had also started early, so by the time I got there quite a few drinks had been drunk and sobriety had fled them many hours earlier. There was a slightly off key, joint singing of Cat's in the Cradle, all phones out as no one knew all the words, within ten minutes of me being there. It was however a lovely evening in the always enjoyable company of my family.

-Damian

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.