Journey Through Time

By Sue

Golden Raspberries

Have you ever seen these before? Or even knew they existed? Well, here they are. The lady at the fruit stand told me that they are sweeter than the red and more tender. I didn't buy these, but did get two pints of the red raspberries. Yum! And, surprise, surprise, the blueberries of yesterday's blip ended up on the Spotlight page. Thanks!!

We packed our garage sale leftovers last night and will make a run to the Goodwill tomorrow I guess. Joan got herself and her things packed and after a run to the grocery for her, I got her home after stopping at the fruit stand. We are all tired! And I am terribly behind with you all. I'll do the best that I can in that department. Take care.

Both the red and the black raspberry species have albino-like pale-yellow natural or horticultural variants, resulting from presence of recessive genes that impede production of anthocyanin pigments. Fruits from such plants are called golden raspberries or yellow raspberries; despite their similar appearance, they retain the distinctive flavour of their respective species (red or black). Most pale-fruited raspberries commercially sold in the eastern United States are derivatives of red raspberries. Yellow-fruited variants of the black raspberry are sometimes grown in home gardens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.