Potential.....

Not a very good day, and to make matters worse I think my macro lens is dying! It wasn't new when I got it, and just the last few days the images it produces are nowhere near as sharp as they used to be, and aside from that it seems unable to focus at times! I am not sure what to do now as I really don't have any cash to buy a new one, need to pray methinks.
I went for a quick trip to Southwater Country park after school, round the quarry lake to see if there were any Marbled white butterflies - which there were, more than the zero I saw last year, but nothing like the numbers there in 2012. On my way back to the car I noticed this Grasshopper nymph as it jumped onto a Fleabane plant.
I think it is probably a final instar nymph of a Meadow Grasshopper (Chorthippus parallelus), These common grasshoppers come in a wide range of colour ways from green to brown and pink with a mixture in the middle.
This little fella looks like it is going to be a really nice colour as an adult....pity I will never see it again.
On another note again, my lovely eldest grandson was 15 today! as my son in law said 'finally the same age as his shoe size!'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.