Winter is coming

Make that winter is here.

Large to see that double rainbow better

Late yesterday a front came through and it was decidedly colder, even here in the sub-tropical Hibiscus Coast.

I knocked out a bit of cooking for Dad today. Fortunately he likes Macaroni Cheese because he has a lot of single servings packaged in the freezer. Like wise slow cooker steak and kidney stew, 8 meals of that and dumplings I think.

I told him I wasn't sure I'd ever cooked dumplings though maybe I did under Mum's instruction when I was young. Stew and dumplings were a good choice on a bitter day.

My friend came for lunch. We went for a walk in the afternoon and tried to avoid squalls. We failed, but a little bit of wet has never stopped us in the past when on adventures so it wasn't going to stop us today. I wish I'd worn gloves, my hands got cold and sore.

===================================

On 2 June last year I took Mum out for cake and hot chocolate. How glad I am we tackled her funeral wishes that morning. She was remarkable, only a short time earlier she'd been in pain, but once we had that under control she was up and off for her blood test and then a treat.

It's bitter sweet but what a store of memories and love to draw on.

I feel her absence enormously but hold her in my heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.