Big smoke

With a slightly more optimistic weather forecast than yesterday, Dad and I headed down to Auckland today to visit the Maritime Museum.

It was very good. I took particular note of the recreated living area of a sailing ship from the mid-1800s. It's the kind of layout some of my descendents would have endured for 3 or more months when they emigrated from the UK.

We pottered around the downtown area of Auckland, noting where Mum and my uncle and aunt had an art gallery for many years. A tall building stands in it's place now.

We ventured a little way up Queen St. I was surprised to find I knew the names of Swanson, Fort, Custom and Albert Streets. I was delighted to see many older buildings still holding their own amongst modern architecture.

Bigger big smoke

We both enjoyed today. I enjoyed it so much and the time we took for me to take photos, I've finally started my Blipfolio. View my other images from downtown Auckland.

Late this afternoon I popped around to Stephen and Judith's to use Mum's old sewing machine. No one was home so I had to figure out how to drive it. But Berninas are consistent - even if I'd nearly finished patching my tramping shorts before I figured it out ;-)

It was a lovely unexpected moment of connection to Mum.

============================

A year ago I was also here and had taken Mum for a ride in her wheel chair

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.