Naughty....

I had to attend a technicians conference in Worthing today, which turned out to be very enjoyable, and better still on the way home I was able to go to Cissbury ring and make the steep climb up to the upper plains, and the beautiful grasslands studded with orchids and butterflies.
I spent a couple of hours just walking around the grasses, looking for interesting species, sadly there seemed less butterflies and day flying moths than the last few years, I may be a bit early, so I will go and check again soon,
I did see a few 6 spot burnets, and forresters but they were quite worn, some Marbled whites and a few Dark green fritillaries, but today's blip had to be this pretty little Small heath butterfly Coenonympha pamphilus, which was roosting in the long grasses. If you look closely at his proboscis you will see the pollinia from the Pyramidal orchids from which he has been feeding. Orchids produce sticky pollinia which attach themselves to insects which nectar on them, pollinating the next flower.
There were lots of Burnet moths in the same state, some completely unable to roll their proboscis up at all!
On another note, I caught a Pine Hawkmoth in my trap last night, a really great new species...so watch this space he may well be my blip tomorrow :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.