If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Knights of the Damned.

Skelton show day! I had my usual Saturday duties at the lodge and so didn't return to the show field until mid afternoon.

Soon after arriving I decided I had better look for a blip and so began a wander round the field looking at stands etc. As I approached the main arena folk were standing 5 or 6 deep round the rails. There must be something worth blipping in there I thought. There was the "Knights of the Damned" were staging a tournament. This included jousting, tilting at a target picking up a small sack on a lance while at the gallop and this fight with flaming maces. This is the only decent shot I got and I had to walk almost all the way round the area to find a gap I could shoot through. The dark intrusion in the bottom right is a head!

The Knights of the Damned is a display team formed and run by film & TV stunt man Justin Pearson. They have been on the go since 1990 and so have a lot of experience and even include a Lady "Knight" tacking part in the action.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.