Our National Monument

The National Monument on the Dam in Amsterdam is a symbol to remember the dead of World War Two.

Its designed by J.J.P. Oud and the sculptures are made by four sculptors, John Rädecker, his sons Han and Jan Willem and Paul Grégoire and is revealed by Queen Juliana on the fourth of May 1956.

Ever since the Royal family places a garland during the remembrance ceremony on the fourth of May.

My mother told me it had been funded by selling deeds of one square centimeter to the public and that she had also bought a deed for me to be inherited - hopefully a long long time from now - but nevertheless...

I can truly say that I am partial owner of this monument :-)))

PS. I totally forgot to say that when I was young this square was always filled with Hippies who chose it to be their hangout to chill. (as did I with the girl I later married ;-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.